St. Clare Saints stun Green Archers to capture Milcu Got Skills 25-under title
The victorious St. Clare Saints celebrate after ruling the Milcu Got Skills Malolos Republic Summer Showcase 25-under division tournament. Reuben Terrado

ST. Clare College stunned De La Salle, 103-92, to capture the Milcu Got Skills Malolos Republic Summer Showcase 25-under division title on Saturday at the Enderun Colleges gym.

Paeng Rebugio finished with 27 points while Michael De Leon added 20 points for the Saints, who copped the championship after setting for second to Arellano in the Hard To Guard conference.

Rebugio later won the Most Valuable Player trophy as he set the tone for the Saints, who led 24-19 in the first quarter, before outscoring the Green Archers, 26-17, in the second period.

“Talagang gusto naming makuha ‘yung championship,” said St. Clare coach Jino Manansala. “Lahat sila, nagtrabaho para makuha ‘yung panalo. Ang pinapakita ko sa liga na ‘to, lahat mabibigyan ng opportunity.”

St. Clare took first place in Group B after a 5-2 win-loss slate. In the playoffs, the Saints beat Far Eastern University in the semifinal round.

Aljun Melecio finished the game with 19 points for the Green Archers, who played without stars Ben Mbala and Jeron Teng in the championship game of the tournament sponsored by Milcu and sanctioned by the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas.

The Green Archers were able to cut the deficit to 90-84. But the Saints orchestrated an 8-0 run that included a three-point play by Aris Dionisio to gain a 98-84 lead with two minutes left in the match.

The Saints also took home the cash prize sponsored by Malolos City mayor Christian Natividad for winning the Milcu title, whose win will bode well for their preparation in the National Association for Schools, Colleges, and Universities (Naascu).

The tournament was also backed by Basketball TV, Gerry’s Grill, Gatorade, Clyde Shoe Cleaner, Kawasaki, LGR, SLAM, Rain or Shine, Honda, Coach Athletic Trainers Tape, Secret Fresh, Mighty Sports, and Nousha Kebabs and Barbeque.

Tournament MVP Paeng Rebugio of St. Clare
Tournament MVP Paeng Rebugio of St. Clare

The scores:

St. Clare (103)—Rebugio 27, De Leon 20, Dionisio 13, De Mesa 10, Principe 8, Puspus 8, Fongue 6, Perez 4, Managuelod 3, Palencia 2, Hallare 2, Delos Reyes 0, Santos 0.

DLSU (92)—Melecio 19, Perkins 14, R. Rivero 14, Dyke 12, Langston 11, Yongco 10, P. Rivero 8, Muyang 2, Gonzales 2, Socka 2, Gob 0, Paraiso 0.

Quarters: 24-19, 50-36, 70-62, 103-92.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports