NCAA juniors champion San Beda looks to finish year with a flourish as Cubs defend PSSBC title
Top high school teams battle it out for honors in the Philippine Secondary Schools Basketball Championship. Reuben Terrado

SAN Beda eyes another title before the year ends when the Red Cubs see action in the 4th Philippine Secondary Schools Basketball Championship (PSSBC) Jumbo Plastic Linoleum Cup set to start on December 12 at the San Beda gym.

The NCAA Season 91 champions are also the titleholders in the PSSBC tournament featuring top teams in the NCAA, the UAAP and the Filipino Chinese Amateur Athletic Federation from their previous seasons.

San Beda is bracketed in Group D with Hope Christian High School and University of Santo Tomas.

De La Salle-Zobel, Lyceum, and Manila Patriotic School are in Group A; Adamson, Mapua, and Chiang Kai Shek College in Group B; and Far Eastern University, Arellano, and Xavier School in Group C.

UAAP champion Ateneo, National University, and La Salle Greenhills are skipping the short tournament.

“We’ll try (to defend) pero hindi ko pa masabi dahil hindi ko pa rin nakikita ‘yung line-up ng iba,” said San Beda coach JB Sison on Wednesday during the coaches’ meeting and press conference at the San Beda cafeteria.

Elimination games are also set on December 13 and 15 at the Philippine Buddhacare Academy gym, with the quarterfinals set on December 17. The semifinals will be held on December 19 and the finals the next day at the SGS Stadium in Quezon City.

“Cream of the crop na ‘to. These are the best high school teams in the NCR. Definitely, mas magignig competitive ‘yung liga na ‘to,” said PSSBC commissioner Ato Badolato.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports