Ravena, Thompson to be feted by collegiate basketball scribes
Kiefer Ravena of UAAP Season 77 semifinalist Ateneo gets the nod from the collegiate sportswriters.

KIEFER Ravena and Earl Scottie Thompson head the Mythical Team to be feted by the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps in the 2014 Collegiate Basketball Awards on December 4 at the Saisaki-Kamayan EDSA.

Ravena and Thompson were hands down choices by collegiate basketball scribes for the Mythical Team after winning the Most Valuable Player award in their mother leagues while playing for Ateneo and University of Perpetual Help, respectively.

Thompson powered the Altas to their third straight NCAA semifinal appearance, while Ravena led the Blue Eagles back to the UAAP Final Four.

Completing the Mythical Team are Mac Belo of Far Eastern University, Ola Adeogun of San Beda, and Jeron Teng of De La Salle.

Belo led FEU to the finals, but the Tamaraws bowed to the NU Bulldogs in the title series.

Adeogun was one of the key players in the Red Lions’ run to their fifth straight championship in the NCAA.

Teng, meanwhile, finished second to Ravena in the MVP race in the UAAP while lifting the Green Archers to another semifinal appearance.

Eric Altamirano of National University and Boyet Fernandez of San Beda will also be given the Coach of the Year awards during the event supported by Smart Sports, Accel 3XVI and Kohl Industries, and also backed by San Miguel Corporation, UAAP Season 77 host University of the East, NCAA Season 90 host Jose Rizal University, Gatorade and the Philippine Sportswriters Association.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph