Mike Nieto takes MVP honors while competiting against twin Matt in NBTC All-Star Game
Mike Nieto added the MVP award in the NBTC All-Star Game to the same honor he won during the Blue Eaglets' title run in the UAAP juniors tournament. Fernando Solo

MIKE Nieto scored 16 points to win the MVP award as his Red team beat the White squad, 106-97, on Sunday in the Seaoil-National Basketball Training Center (NBTC) All-Star Game at the Meralco Gym.

Nieto, who won the UAAP Season 77 MVP after the Ateneo Blue Eaglets won the crown, also added five rebounds and an assist while going 2-of-3  from three-point range to lead the Red squad of San Beda coach JB Sison.

The Red team pulled away for goos on the strength of a 21-2 run in the third quarter.

Incidentally, another Ateneo Blue Eaglet in Thirdy Ravena won last year’s NBTC All-Star Game MP award but Nieto said he wasn’t after the individual plum.

“Hindi ko po iniisip ‘yung MVP,” said Nieto, who played against twin brother Matt and Ateneo head coach Joe Silva for the All-Star Game. “Buti na lang po at nanalo kami.”

“Nakakapanibago po kanina. Nagulat nga ako kanina na bantay ko siya (Matt). Ayaw ko na po maulit ‘yun,” said Nieto with a smile when asked about playing against Matt.

Jollo Go of Hope Christian High School and Brandrey Bienes of Far Eastern University-Diliman scored 15 points each for the Red Team. Jerrick Balanza of Letran and Fran Yu of Chiang Kai Shek College netted 11 markers each.

JV Gallego of Chiang Kai Shek College led White with 16 points, while Matt Nieto added 14 points.

The scores:

Red (106) — Mi. Nieto 16, Go 15, Bienes 15, Balanza 11, Yu 11, Aguirre 6, Gob 6, Manalang 6, Caracut 6, Dyke 6, Lee 4, Tungcab 4.

White (97) — Gallego 16, Ma. Nieto 14, Rangel 13, Estrella 12, Diputado 11, Comboy 9, Banzon 7, Tibayan 4, Lugo 4, Abatayo 4, Alas 3, Yongco 0.

Quarters: 26-21, 47-50, 80-65, 106-97.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports