Mandaluyong, MMDA clash for MBT South crown as Quezon City faces San Juan for MBT North title
Quezon City eliminated Navotas, 95-92, to advance to the North division finals of the Metro Basketball Tournament.

WHICH teams will be this year's inaugural MBT South and North Seniors champions?

The answers will be known tonight (Friday) as South topnotcher Mandaluyong takes on MMDA and North frontrunner Quezon City battles host San Juan in a pair of winner-take-all matches at the San Juan Gym to determine the division champions.

The Tigers  and the Black Berets clash at 6 p.m. while the Stars and the Wattah Wattah square off at 7:30 p.m  in this  23-under event organized by the Metro Manila Development Authority  (MMDA) thru the Metro Manila Sportsfest and supported by the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA).

The champions of the two divisions will then dispute the overall title in a best-of-three series of the event which has Mobile App ng Bayan Barangay 143 as presentor, my|phone “Bida ang Pinoy” as official mobile phone, Spalding as official ball, and Synergy 88, San Miguel Corp., World Balance and Higer Bus as major sponsors.

Mandaluyong, which is being handled by coach Johnedel Cardel, is the only unbeaten team in the tournament with seven straight victories, including six in the classification phase, one of which was a 100-72 rout of MMDA last Sept. 24 at the Navotas Sports Complex led by a monstrous 20-point, 17-rebound effort by now-GlobalPort Batang Pier incoming rookie Joseph Gabayni.

Even with Gabayni now gone, the Tigers still had plenty of ammunition in eliminating Pateros, 102-63 in the Division semifinals in the same Navotas venue last Nov. 10, just before the league took a break in the deference to the APEC Summit in Manila this week.

Leading the Tigers were MBT All Star Game MVP Sandy Cenal, Cyrus Tabi, Prince Allan Liquinan, Angelo Manalac and  Andrei Dada.

Steven Andres, Jeremy Deles, Dan Natividad and John Kevin Gatchalian will carry the fight for  No. 3-seed MMDA, which advanced to the Division Finals via an upset 90-79 win in the semis over No. 2 Las Piñas  last Nov. 10 at the San Andres Sports Complex.

Quezon City, which boasts of combined 6-1 record in the classification and semifinal rounds,  will be bannered by Jefferson Comia, John Kenneth Cortez, Mikhael Justin Salazar and John Mahari.

The Stars won over Navotas 95-92 in the latter’s homecourt last Nov. 11 to advance to the North finals 

San Juan, which earned the right to meet Quezon City following an 83-76 win over Manila also in the latter’s homecourt last Nov. 10,, will lean anew on the trio of John Kenneth Zamora, Julian Lago and King Astrero.


Zamora scored on a buzzer-beating triple in Whatta Whatta’s 92-91 overtime victory over QC in their classification round clash on the opening day last Sept. 10 at the Makati Coliseum of this tournament which is also supported by Excellent Noodles, Nature’s Spring Water, 1-Pacman Partylist, Hopewell Sales Corp., Star Bread, Frabelle Foods, Regan Industrial Sales, Inc.,, Alcoplus and Archie’s Bespoke Bar + Grill.

The best-of-3 Grand Finals of this tourney, which has PBA legend Pido Jarencio as commissioner, will begin on Nov. 20.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph