Mbala, Teng, Oraeme, Jalalon, Mocon named to Mythical Selection in Collegiate Basketball Awards
Ben Mbala, Jeron Teng, Allwell Oraeme, Jio Jalalon and Javee Mocon are also candidates for the Player of the Year award.

TWO La Salle stars and three NCAA players comprise the Mighty Sports Collegiate Mythical Five that will be awarded on Jan. 26 in the Collegiate Basketball Awards at the Montgomery Place Social Hall in E. Rodriguez Ave. in Quezon City.

Ben Mbala and Jeron Teng, who led La Salle to the UAAP championship, will be honored along with Mapua’s Allwell Oraeme, San Beda’s Javee Mocon and Arellano University’s Jio Jalalon by the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps for their outstanding performances during the collegiate season. 

Aldin Ayo and Jamike Jarin were named Coaches of the Year for leading La Salle and San Beda to the championship of their respective leagues.

Mbala was named UAAP Most Valuable Player while Teng took the Finals MVP plum as the Green Archers won their ninth championship, dominating the league with 16 wins in 17 games including a sweep of the archrival Ateneo Blue Eagles in the finals.

Oraeme bagged his second straight NCAA MVP plum after carrying the Cardinals back to the Final Four.

Mocon was one of the vital figures of the Red Lions’ successful championship run in the NCAA, sweeping Jalalon and the Chiefs in the finals held in October.

Jalalon, now a PBA rookie, showed why he was one of the country’s amateur cagers, carrying the Chiefs to their second finals appearance in three seasons.

The Mythical Five members are also candidates for the Smart Player of the Year, one of the major awards in the event backed by Mighty Sports and supported by Smart, Accel, Mighty Sports, MJM Productions and Chooks to Go. 

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph