Kiefer Ravena, Allwell Oraeme, Mac Belo lead list of contenders for top honor in Collegiate Basketball Awards
From the sportswriters' 2015 Collegiate Mythical five of Kevin Ferrer, Kiefer Ravena, Allwell Oraeme, Mac Belo and Scottie Thompson will be picked the Player of the Year. 

THE awarding of the Smart Player of the Year highlights the gathering of some of the best and brightest of the varsity season as the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps and Smart Sports stage the Collegiate Basketball Awards on Tuesday night at Saisaki-Kamayan EDSA.

The winner of the award given each year by the group of scribes covering the collegiate beat will be chosen from the members of the Collegiate Mythical Five that stood out as some of 2015’s best players. They are Ateneo’s Kiefer Ravena, Mapua’s Allwell Oraeme, Far Eastern University’s Mac Belo, University of Santo Tomas’ Kevin Ferrer and University of Perpetual Help’s Scottie Thompson.

The awards night, hosted by ABS-CBN Sports courtside reporter Ceej Tantengco, will also recognize coaches Aldin Ayo, formerly of Letran, and Nash Racela of Far Eastern University for leading their teams to the championship.

Also to be feted in the event backed by Accel Quantum-3XVI, Gatorade, UAAP Season 78 host University of the Philippines, NCAA Season 91 host Mapua, San Miguel Corporation and the Philippine Sports Commission is legendary coach Aric del Rosario.

Del Rosario will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for his accomplishments, particularly as the architect of UST’s historic four-peat in the 1990s. He joins former San Beda high school mentor Ato Badolato as the only winners of the said plum.

Other awardees are FEU’s Roger Pogoy and Letran’s Kevin Racal (Pivotal Player), San Beda’s Baser Amer, Letran’s Mark Cruz and FEU’s Mike Tolomia (Super Senior), San Beda’s Art dela Cruz and UST’s Ed Daquioag (Impact Player), Arellano’s Jiovanni Jalalon (Accel Court General) and La Salle’s Jeron Teng (Gatorade Energy Player).


Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph