Allwell Oraeme, Kiefer Ravena head Mythical Five in Collegiate Basketball Awards
Kevin Ferrer, Kiefer Ravena, Allwell Oraeme, Mac Belo and Scottie Thompson earn the nod of writers covering the NCAA and UAAP. Jerome Ascano / Jaime Campos

MVPs Kiefer Ravena of Ateneo and Allwell Oraeme of Mapua head the Collegiate Mythical Five to be honored by the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps and Smart Sports in the Collegiate Basketball Awards on Jan. 26 at Saisaki-Kamayan in Greenhills.

Far Eastern University’s Mac Belo has also been named to the group along with University of Santo Tomas’ Kevin Ferrer and University of Perpetual Help’s Scottie Thompson for their outstanding performances during the collegiate season.

Ravena captured his second straight UAAP MVP award in his final season with Ateneo, while Oraeme powered Mapua to its first NCAA Final Four appearance since 2010 thanks to a series of double-double performances.

Belo ended his collegiate career on a memorable note as he helped FEU capture its first title since 2005, while winning the Finals MVP honors.

Although he was on the losing end of that title series with FEU, Ferrer had a sensational season for UST and was second to Ravena in the UAAP MVP derby.

Thompson, now playing for Ginebra in the PBA, earned the nod of the group of scribes covering the collegiate basketball beat even though Perpetual fell short of the NCAA semifinals, with a strong campaign that almost equaled his MVP year in 2014.

The five players are also qualified for the Smart Player of the Year which will be announced on the night of the awards

Also being honored are FEU’s Nash Racela and Aldin Ayo, the former Letran coach now with La Salle, who steered their teams to the titles.

FEU’s Roger Pogoy and Letran’s Kevin Racal will share the Pivotal Player award while San Beda’s Baser Amer, Letran’s Mark Cruz and FEU’s Mike Tolomia will receive the Super Senior honors.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph