Aldin Ayo, Jamike Jarin share Coach of the Year honor in Collegiate Basketball Awards
Aldin Ayo and Jamike Jarin lead the top achievers in this year's Collegiate Basketball Awards. Jerome Ascano and Dante Peralta

CHAMPION coaches Aldin Ayo and Jamike Jarin are among the top achievers who will be feted when the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps holds its annual Collegiate Basketball Awards at the Montgomery Place Social Hall in E. Rodriguez Ave., Quezon City on January 26.

The two bench tacticians will receive the Coach of the Year award in the event backed by Smart, Accel, Mighty Sports and MJM Productions for guiding their respective teams to the championship in the country’s two major varsity leagues.

Ayo revived the winning tradition of the La Salle Green Archers who captured the UAAP title at the expense of archrival Ateneo, one year after steering his alma mater Letran back to the top of the NCAA.

Jarin got his redemption from losing to Ayo and the Knights in 2015 by leading the San Beda Red Lions to their ninth championship in 11 seasons after sweeping Arellano in the title series.

Ayo is the first coach in the history of the awards night to win the Coach of the Year award in both leagues, while Jarin is receiving the prestigious honor before he makes his coaching debut for the National University Bulldogs in the UAAP next season.

Other coaches who have won the award in previous years of the annual event honoring the top achievers of the UAAP and NCAA are Norman Black, Frankie Lim, Eric Altamirano, Boyet Fernandez, Louie Alas, Nash Racela, Ato Agustin and Juno Sauler.

Other awards to be handed out are the Smart Player of the Year award and the Collegiate Mythical Five presented by Mighty Sports.

The Pivotal Player, Impact Player, Super Senior and Mr. Efficiency honors will also be awarded on the same night.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph