Ben Mbala beats La Salle teammate Jeron Teng for College Player of the Year honor
Ben Mbala is the fourth player to receive the College Player of the Year honor after La Salle teammate Jeron Teng, former Ateneo star Kiefer Ravena, and FEU standout Mac Belo. Jaime Campos

Ben Mbala of La Salle has been named the College Player of the Year by scribes covering the varsity beat after leading the Green Archers to their ninth UAAP championship while winning the MVP honor.

The Cameroonian center will receive the highest honor during the Collegiate Basketball Awards to be held on Thursday night at the Montgomery Place Social Hall in E. Rodriguez Ave., Quezon City.

He is the fourth player to claim the award, joining La Salle teammate Jeron Teng, former Ateneo star and two-time winner Kiefer Ravena and ex-Far Eastern University standout Mac Belo.

Mbala and Teng were among the major awardees in the event backed by Smart, Accel, Mighty Sports, MJM Productions and Chooks to Go.

The Green Archers standouts were joined by Mapua's Allwell Oraeme, Arellano's Jio Jalalon and San Beda's Javee Mocon in the Mighty Sports Mythical Five.

Aldin Ayo and Jamike Jarin were given due recognition by sharing the Coach of the Year honors. Ayo was the architect of La Salle's UAAP title run while Jarin steered San Beda to its ninth NCAA crown in 11 seasons.

Special awards were also handed out to La Salle's Kib Montalbo and San Beda's Davon Potts as the Pivotal Players of their respective leagues even as San Beda's Robert Bolick and Ateneo's Isaac Go received the Impact Player plums.

University of the Philippines guard Paul Desiderio took the Chooks to Go Breakout Player, fellow Maroon Jett Manuel and Far Eastern University's Raymar Jose were heralded with the Super Senior citations while Adamson center Papi Sarr took the Mr. Efficiency award.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph