Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, Jan 19

    Joel Cagulangan tops final NCAA NBTC 24; four Red Robins in top 10

    Nov 19, 2018
    PHOTO: dante peralta

    JOEL Cagulangan proved to be head and shoulders above everyone in NCAA Season 94, topping the final Chooks-to-Go/NBTC NCAA high school player rankings.

    The cat-quick guard from La Salle Greenhills showed what he's made of in his final year in the juniors' division, towing the Greenies to their second consecutive finals appearance while also bagging the Season MVP award.

    Cagulangan averaged 18.7 points, 7.1 assists, 6.1 rebounds and 2.1 steals for the Greenies in his senior year.

    Four Mapua Red Robins made their way to the top 10.

    Dan Arches claimed the second spot after putting Mapua on his shoulders in the playoffs, while finals MVP Paolo Hernandez jumped to third with his starmaking performance in Game Three of the championship round.

    Mythical Team memer Clint Escamis (seventh) and Rookie of the Year Jonnel Policarpio (ninth) also made the top half of the list.

    Greenies big man Inand Fornilos wound up with the fourth spot, followed by Most Improved Player John Amores of JRU at No. 5 Defensive Player of the Year Aaron Fermin of Arellano No. 6.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Completing the top 10 of this year's NCAA rankings are CSB-LSGH's Joshua David at eighth and Lyceum's Mac Guadana at 10th.

    The final rankings:

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    1. Joel Cagulangan (CSB)
    2. Dan Arches (MU)
    3. Paolo Hernandez (MU)
    4. Inand Fornilos (CSB)
    5. John Amores (JRU)
    6. Aaron Fermin (AU)
    7. Clint Escamis (MU)
    8. Joshua David (CSB)
    9. Jonnel Policarpio (MU)
    10. Mac Guadana (LPU)
    11. John Barba (LPU)
    12. Milo Janao (SSCR)
    13. John Delos Santos (JRU)
    14. Rom Junsay (AU)
    15. Thomas Vasquez (JRU)
    16. Tony Ynot (SBU)
    17. Emman Galman (UPHSD)
    18. Marwin Dionisio (JRU)
    19. Ezdel Galoy (UPHSD)
    20. Jade Talampas (SBU)
    21. RC Calimag (CSB)
    22. JR Ilustrisimo (EAC)
    23. Kean Baclaan (SSCR)
    24. Penny Estacio (SBU)

    This year, there are three separate editions of the NBTC 24 – one for the NCAA, one for the UAAP, and one for the CESAFI – to accommodate the Juniors calendar for the whole year.

    After all three editions have been completed, a final list composing the top 24 players nationwide will then be chosen to participate in the annual NBTC All-Star Game in March.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    PHOTO: dante peralta
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result