Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Tue, Sep 18

    Steve Kerr given second Tomjanovich Award for coaching excellence and cooperation with media, fans

    May 22, 2018

    GOLDEN  State's Steve Kerr has won the Rudy Tomjanovich Award, given to an NBA coach in recognition of his cooperation with media and fans, as well as excellence on the court.

    The Professional Basketball Writers Association announced the winner on Tuesday. The award is named for Tomjanovich, the former Houston Rockets coach.

    Kerr, who also won the award in 2015, beat out fellow finalists Brad Stevens of Boston, Mike D'Antoni of Houston, Doc Rivers of the Los Angeles Clippers and Steve Clifford of Charlotte in voting by PBWA members.

    The Warriors have won two of the last three NBA titles under Kerr and have a 2-1 lead in the Western Conference finals over Houston. The PBWA said Kerr encourages players to express themselves and is generous with his time with the working press.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result