NBA referees explain how technical foul on Kerr was mistakenly credited to Green
Warriors coach Steve Kerr gets into an argument with a fan at ringside. AP

REFEREES Mike Callahan and John Goble took responsibility to the confusion related to Draymond Green's supposed ejection after it was thought that he have incurred his second technical foul during Game 4 of the NBA Finals between the Golden State Warriors and the Cleveland Cavaliers.

Confusion marred the third quarter of Friday's (Saturday Manila time) Game 4 where Green was thought to have been called with a second technical foul for complaining. Referees, however, made a clarification saying that the supposed first technical foul on Green was actually called on Warriors coach Steve Kerr.

Callahan took the blame for the confusion in an interview with pool reporter Brian Mahoney of the Associated Press, a transcript of which was sent to Philippine media outlets including SPIN.ph.

"The procedure is to advise the table who the technical foul is on and with the player we give a number," said Callahan. "With a coach or trainer, we just verbalize and at that time we should listen to the PA announcer to who it is on. I take full responsibility for that."

[See Green says he was sure technical was on Kerr - not on him]

Goble seconded Callahan's statements, saying that he should have done a better job of informing the table official that it was Kerr, and not Green, who was slapped with a technical foul.

"After calling the loose ball foul on Draymond Green, I noticed the reaction by Coach Kerr and then assessed the technical foul. In the moment, I thought I had verbalized to the table that the technical foul was on Coach Kerr. After looking at the video, I did not verbalize to the table, and looking at the video, I should have done a better job of making sure that the table knew the technical foul was on Kerr," said Goble.

Callahan said they only learned that the table officials made the error when they slapped Green with a technical foul in the third quarter.

"When the technical foul was called on Draymond Green, we reported it to the table," said Callahan. "The table informed us that it was his second technical foul and ejected. We informed the table that it was not his second technical foul."

"We found out at the same time when we called the first technical foul on Draymond Green. That's when we were informed by the table," said Callahan.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph