Antetokounmpo should've been called for five-second violation before hitting game-winner, says NBA
According to the NBA’s "Last Two Minute Report," Bucks guard Giannie Antetokoumpo spent more than five seconds dribbling with his back to the basket below the free throw line prior to hitting the game-winner against the Knicks. AP

MILWAUKEE Bucks star Giannis Antetokounmpo should've been called for a five-second violation before hitting his game-winning buzzer beater against the New York Knicks on Wednesday (Thursday, Manila time).

This was according to the NBA’s "Last Two Minute Report" which stated that Antetokoumpo spent more than five seconds dribbling with his back to the basket below the free throw line prior to hitting the game-winner.

The NBA said the 6-11 Bucks point guard dubbed as 'The Greek Freak' dribbled the ball for 5.6 seconds.

The “Last two Minute Report” is the league’s daily review of officiating in the final two minutes of every NBA game which is released to the public. 

If the officials made the call on the rising Bucks star, the Knicks, who were up 104-103, would have awarded possession with two seconds left in the game.

The report also noted other violations prior to Antetokounmpo's clutch jumper that could have affected the game. These include a defensive three-second violation by Carmelo Anthony with 4.8 seconds left which would have sent Milwaukee to the free throw line.

After the game, Knicks coach Jeff Hornacek said he believed Antetokounmpo may have been guilty a five-second violation but knew the referees would never make that kind of call in that crucial play.

The Bucks rallied from a 14-point deficit in the fourth quarter to hand the Knicks their sixth straight defeat. The two teams meet again on Friday (Saturday, Manila time). 

Follow the writer on Twitter: @spinph