Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Mon, Jul 16

    NBA admits refs erred in failing to call LeBron travelling violation - and Iguodala foul - in Game Two

    Jun 9, 2015

    NBA referees make glaring mistakes, too, so now we know PBA officials do not have a monopoly in this department.

    On Tuesday, NBA's technical staff admitted referees made a mistake by failing to call a travelling call on Cleveland superstar LeBron James with 1:36 minutes left in overtime and the Cavaliers leading the Golden State Warriors, 92-91, in Game Two of the NBA Finals.

    In the crucial play, James drove the lane and, met by three Warriors defenders, clearly took steps before putting up a shot.

    James eventually went for a fallaway jumper and was hacked in the arm by Warriors forward Andre Iguodala - a non-call which the NBA admitted was also incorrect, meaning the refs missed two calls in one play.

    The play ended with a 24-second violation being called on the Cavaliers.

    Watch the play HERE

    A few plays later, the NBA also ruled the referees made a mistake by not calling a foul on Warriors forward Dreymond Green who grabbed James' shoulder during a jump ball, affecting his ability to jump.

    The play ended with James being called for a violation for catching the ball.

    Watch the play HERE 

    But wrong as the calls may be, the beauty of NBA officiating is that league officials make the result of the review public, warts and all. So unlike the PBA which never releases the result of the review of the referees' performance - and very rarely admits errors by referees, which are many.

    It's high time PBA commissioner Chito Salud takes the cue.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result