Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Tue, Jul 17

    Laguna completes sweep of PBA Youngstars tilt

    May 26, 2013

    CEBU was looking for a different ending. But so was Laguna.

    Smarting from an earlier setback suffered at the hands of Laguna, Cebu put up a valiant stand for all of two quarters before reeling back against a superior opponent.

    Gio Calacalsada unloaded 23 points and MVP Frederick Tungcab added 15 as Laguna completed a sweep of the tournament, wearing down Cebu in the final game, 65-52, and capturing the 2013 Coca-Cola-PBA Youngstars National Championship at the Blue Eagle gym over the weekend.

    Far from the rout that marked their elimination round encounter where Laguna blasted Cebu, 72-41, in a battle of undefeated leaders, the championship proved to be a thriller until Laguna decided it has had enough.

    From there, it was only a matter of time before Cebu folded.

    Throwing caution to the wind, Cebu took off, 14-11, in  the first quarter and pulled ahead, 27-23, at the half. But as it turned out, all it did was rouse Laguna which returned to the court with burning resolve to avert a disaster.

    It was the second straight final appearance for Cebu, which bowed to Taytay last year.

     “We are extremely gratified by the conduct of this year’s  Coca-Cola PBA Youngstars summer league. PBA’s partnership with Coke remains strong and vibrant as ever as we look forward to next year’s tournament," said PBA commissioner Chito Salud.

    Ex-pro Gherome Ejercito represented Laguna Gov. ER Ejercito during the awarding ceremony graced by Salud and Atty. Adel Tamano, Coca-Cola Philippines vice president for public affairs and communications.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Calacalsada and Tungcab were later named to the Mythical Team along with Glenn Gallardo of Cagayan de Oro, Jun Keng Manzo III of Cebu and Desmond Santos of KABAKA-Manila.

     The scores:

    Laguna (65) – Calacalsada 23, Tungcab 15, Abuhijleh 9, Moleta 8, Canlas, Sese 3 , Natividad 1, Aquino 0, Carreon 0, Estacio 0, Ocampo 0, Salisi 0.

    Cebu (52) – Flores 18, Wamar 18, King 7, Manzo 4, Gonzaga 3, Maglasang 2, Balbosa 0, Baring 0, Morre 0, Oche 0, Silorio 0, Zenarosa  0.

    Quarterscores: 11-14; 23-27; 45-39; 65-52

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result