MVP Ben Mbala joined by Perez, Bolick, Mocon, Rivero in Filoil Cup Mythical Five
Filoil Flying V Premier Preseason Cup MVP Ben Mbala with fellow Mythical Five members Ricci Rivero, Robert Bolick, Jayvee Mocon, and CJ Perez. Jaime Campos

BEN Mbala of De La Salle has been named the MVP award of the 2017 Filoil Flying V Preseason Premier Cup.

The reigning UAAP Season 79 MVP added the preseason award to his growing collection after leading the Green Archers back to the finals of the tournament where they are defending champions.

Mbala also took home the Mythical Five award along with La Salle teammate Ricci Rivero, San Beda's Robert Bolick and Javee Mocon, and Lyceum's CJ Perez.

Mbala took the Green Archers to the finals despite being the fourth seed in Group A, beating Far Eastern University and LPU en route to the championship game against San Beda on Sunday.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports