Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Wed, Jan 26

    18 teams battle it out for top honors in Filoil Flying V preseason basketball tournament

    Mar 26, 2015

    THE 2015 edition of the annual summer tournament Filoil Flying V Preseason Premier Cup will start on April 18 with eighteen schools participating.

    Sixteen schools from Metro Manila plus two from Cebu will see action in the meet as part of their preparations for the upcoming season of their mother leagues.

    UAAP champion National University, heads Group A that also features Adamson, Emilio Aguinaldo College, Far Eastern University, Jose Rizal University, Letran, University of Perpetual Help, College of Saint Benilde, and University of San Jose-Recoletos.

    Filoil champion La Salle is in Group B with NCAA champion San Beda, Cesafi titlist Southwestern University, Centro Escolar University, Mapua, Lyceum, University of the East, University of the Philippines, and University of Santo Tomas.

    Ateneo, Arellano, and San Sebastian are not seeing action in this year’s tournament.

    Tournament director Joey Guillermo said there is no major changes to this year’s tournament, except the 18 teams will be able to field a maximum of 20 players in the line-up, up from the 18 last year. The change was made mainly due to the UAAP season now being played in September, instead of July, starting this year.

    Continue reading below ↓

    “As far as the UAAP is concerned, teams are still in the process of recruiting and the players are still vying for slots. So they requested to have 20 players in the line-up,” said Guillermo after the league’s coaches’ meeting on Thursday at the Brother’s Burger in Pasig City.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Teams in each group will play a single round robin elimination, with the top four advancing to the quarterfinals. The final is a knockout game on June 14.

    A juniors tournament will also be held featuring 10 teams.

    UAAP champion Ateneo and NCAA titlist San Beda have been grouped together with De La Salle-Zobel, JRU, and Letran.

    Adamson is in Group B with FEU-Diliman, La Salle-Greenhills, Mapua-Malayan, and NU.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result