Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Sat, May 30

    Tab Baldwin, Boyet Fernandez again hailed by scribes as college basketball coaches of the year

    May 24, 2019
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano

    SAN Beda Red Lions head mentor Boyet Fernandez and Ateneo Blue Eagles chief tactician Tab Baldwin will be honored as the Coaches of the Year in the 2019 Chooks-to-Go Collegiate Awards on Monday at the Amelie Hotel Manila in Malate.

    Fernandez guided the Red Lions to their 11th title in the last 13 years, their 22nd overall in the NCAA Seniors Basketball Tournament.

    During the tournament, San Beda only lost once, capping the season with a 14-game winning streak - including a two-game sweep of the Lyceum Pirates in the Finals.

    This will be Fernandez's fifth Coach of the Year plum, tying him for most in the category with former Ateneo Blue Eagles head coach Norman Black.

    Baldwin is set to receive his second straight Coach of the Year trophy in the annual event organized by the Collegiate Press Corps, composed of scribes from print and online outfits covering the NCAA and UAAP.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Under Baldwin's watch, the Blue Eagles cruised through the UAAP Season 81 Men's Basketball Tournament to win their second straight championship, the school's 10th overall.

    Baldwin also led Ateneo-Pilipinas to a valiant fourth-place finish in the 2018 William Jones Cup even if they were the only collegiate team in the Taiwanese pocket tournament for national teams and clubs.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Also being feted are UP Fighting Maroons, the feel-good story of the collegiate season after overcoming a shaky start to get things together late in the UAAP tournament.

    With Paul Desiderio leading the way, UP made it to the UAAP Finals for the first time in 32 years. The second place finish was also UP's first podium finish in the sport in 32 years.

    Also set to be honored in the event are Cherry Rondina (UAAP Volleyball Player of the Year); Regine Arocha (NCAA Volleyball Player of the Year), the National University Lady Bulldogs (Award of Excellence), Ateneo's Angelo Kouame and San Beda's Javee Mocon (Pivotal Players), Lyceum's CJ Perez and Adamson's Sean Manganti (Impact Players).

    Continue reading below ↓

    The awards night is presented by SportsVision and backed by Amelie Hotel, Rain or Shine, NorthPort, World Balance, Arellano and AXA Team EDS

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    PHOTO: Jerome Ascano
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result