Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Sat, Jul 21

    Champion coaches Altamirano, Fernandez to be honored by college sports scribes

    Nov 19, 2014

    NATIONAL University’s Eric Altamirano and San Beda's Boyet Fernandez will be feted by the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps in the 2014 Collegiate Basketball Awards on Dec. 4 at the Saisaki-Kamayan on EDSA.

    Altamirano and Fernandez will receive the Coach of the Year awards for steering their respective teams to historic runs in the recent UAAP and NCAA basketball seasons.

    After struggling in his first three seasons with NU, Altamirano guided the Bulldogs in a memorable run to turn a team reeling from the loss of Bobby Ray Parks into UAAP champions.

    Led by Alfred Aroga, Troy Rosario and Gelo Alolino the Bulldogs endured five do-or-die games to capture their first title since 1954.

    Fernandez, meanwhile, capped his two-year stay at San Beda by extending the Red Lions' reign in the NCAA.

    With Ola Adeogun, Baser Amer, Art dela Cruz and David Semerad leading the way, San Beda overcame an uncharacteristic slump late in the elimination round to win its fifth straight championship.

    The title win was a fitting sendoff for Fernandez, who is now coaching the NLEX Road Warriors in the PBA.

    The annual recognition dinner, supported by Smart Sports, Accel 3XVI and Kohl Industries (Doctor J alcohol, Bactigel hand sanitizer, Mighty Mom dishwashing liquid, honors the outstanding performers in the country’s top two varsity leagues.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result