View Today
    Sat, Sep 21

    Eight teams make up cast in maiden season of WNBL

    Feb 27, 2019

    THE maiden season of the Women’s National Basketball League (WNBL) is set to open in March with eight teams in the initial cast.

    Paranaque, PSI, Navy, Laguna, Far Eastern University, Quezon City, Adamson, and Pampanga have confirmed their participation in the first season of the WNBL, which aims to hone Filipina ballers in the country.

    The WNBL will coincide with the second season of the NBL men’s tournament which will open on March 9 in Sta. Rosa, Laguna.

    NBL chairman Celso Mercado said the amateur women’s league will be catering to players aged 18 to 35 as it looks to be a home for players who want to extend their careers beyond college.

    “We want to help in the development of women’s basketball in the Philippines,” Mercado said.

    Read Next
    read more stories about:
    Recommended Videos
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result