Phoenix Petroleum, National University-BDO to join new season of PBA D-League

PHOENIX Petroleum and National University-BDO will join the initial seven teams seeing action in the 2016 PBA D-League Aspirants Cup.

After knocking on the door of the pro league for some time now, Phoenix finally makes its debut in big-time basketball circle in the season-opening tournament of the D-League this January.

NU-BDO, meanwhile, will be making its return to the league with the core of the National University Bulldogs.

Phoenix and NU-BDO will be joining Foundation Cup champion Café France, Racal Motors, Tanduay Light, AMA, Mindanao Aguilas, Wangs Basketball, and Jam Liner, which will have a school tie-up with University of the Philippines.

Last year’s Foundation Cup champion Hapee, Cebuana Lhuillier, and Cagayan Valley, however, will no longer see action this conference.

Racal Motors owns the No. 1 pick in the D-League draft set Tuesday at the PBA Café in Pasig.

There will be new rules this season with school-based teams mandated to field six players from their varsity lineup. Imports are  still allowed to play for school-based squads, which must name nine more locals coming from their varsity team in the 14-man roster.

The age limit for players will now be 30 years old.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports