Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Mon, Aug 20

    Ebondo suprise leader in PBA D-League Best Player of the Conference race

    Jan 6, 2014

    ROD Ebondo is on pace to become the first foreign player to win the top individual award of the PBA-Developmental League as the Kenyan center of Café France leads the race in the Best Player of the Conference (BPC) in the Aspirants Cup based on statistics amassed just before the Christmas break.

    The big man out of Centro Escolar University accumulated a total of 32.56 statistical points (sps) and surprisingly took first place in the BPC race after posting averages of 11.6 points, 10.9 rebounds, and 2.2 blocks in nine games with the Bakers, who holds a 7-3 win-loss slate.

    Contesting Ebondo for the top award are Garvo Lanete and Brian Heruela, whose teams, NLEX and Big Chill, respectively, belong on the upper bracket of the standings.

    Lanete is currently in second place with 31.40 sps. as the Gilas cadet currently leads the league in scoring with an average of 19 points per game while adding 1.6 rebounds, 2.2 assists, and 1.4 steals playing for the Road Warriors, who have a 4-1 win-loss card.

    Taking third place is Heruela, who has 31.10 sps. after 11 games with the league-leading Superchargers (10-1). The former teammate of June Mar Fajardo at University of Cebu, has all-around averages of 8.1 points, 5.8 rebounds, 8.1 assists, and 2.5 steals per game.

    Aside from statistics, votes from the PBA Commissioner’s Office and media, and the conference finish of the team will all be considered to determine the winner.

    Michael Juico of Wangs Basketball is in fourth place with 30.78 sps, followed by Raul Soyud of Derulo Accelero with 30.44 sps.

    Former Gilas cager and ex-pro Jason Ballesteros of Jumbo Plastic Linoleum is currently in sixth with 29.78 sps, followed by John Pinto of Cagayan Valley (29.56), and Jan Colina of Jumbo Plastic (29.11).

    Continue reading below ↓

    Rounding out the top 10 are Reil Cervantes of Big Chill (29), and Bobby Ray Parks of National University-Banco De Oro (28.75).

    Previous winners of the BPC award are Allein Maliksi, Vic Manuel, Cliff Hodge, Ian Sangalang, and Jake Pascual.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result