Sorry, no results found for
    View Today
    Sun, Jul 22

    Competitive 11-team field vying in D-League

    Oct 17, 2012

    ELEVEN teams led by defending champion NLEX are set to complete in the 2013 season of the Philippine Basketball Association Developmental League on October 23 at The Arena in San Juan.

    Newcomer Informatics makes its debut against the Cagayan Rising Suns in the first game of the Aspirant’s Cup at 2 p.m. following the brief opening ceremony at 1 p.m.

    Boracay Rum battles Cebuana Lhuillier in the other game at 4 o’clock.

    Jose Rizal University and Fruitas are also competing in the league for the first time, hoping to give a good account of themselves against Blackwater Sports, Café France, Erase Xfoliant, Big Chill, and the three-time champions Road Warriors.

    “The field is very balanced this season. Every team is capable of winning. Our goal is the same as the previous conferences, to win the championship. But with a relatively new team, it will take great effort to achieve our goal,” said NLEX coach Boyet Fernandez, who lost seven players to the recent PBA Draft.

    Tournament format will be single-round robin with the top two teams earning outright semifinal berths.

    The third, fourth, fifth, and sixth ranked teams will advance to the quarterfinals with the No. 3 and 4 teams enjoying a twice-to-beat advantage.

    The bottom five teams will be eliminated. The semifinal and the Finals will be best-of-three series.

    Read Next
    We recommend
    Sponsored Content
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result