Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Thu, Dec 1

    Cignal San Beda overcomes Racal in Game 3 thriller to claim D-League championship

    Apr 6, 2017
    Cignal-San Beda celebrates after winning the PBA D-League Aspirants Cup title. Dante Peralta

    JAVEE Mocon took charge late as Cignal-San Beda captured the PBA D-League Aspirants' Cup championship with a heart-pounding 81-78 win over Racal on Thursday at the Ynares Sports Arena.

    Mocon dropped 11 of his 25 points in the final stretch as the Hawkeyes took a 79-73 lead entering the final two minutes.

    Racal refused to fold, with Jackson Corpuz making two shots from the foul line as the Tile Masters pulled to within one, 79-78, with 36.3 ticks left.

    Bolick hit two pressure-packed free throws for the final score.

    Racal had a chance to send the game into overtime but Rey Nambatac's three-pointer as time expired rimmed out.

    Mocon finished with 25 points and seven rebounds, while Perkins scored 21 points including a three-pointer late in the third period that gave Cignal its first taste of the lead, 59-58.

    Bolick wound up with 14 points and Pamboy Raymundo added 13.


    "He picked up where he left off. He did a very good job. He's been very positive and today he stepped up for us," said Cignal coach Boyet Fernandez of Mocon.

    While the Hawkeyes claimed their maiden title, it was the seventh for Fernandez in the developmental league.

    The former NLEX Road Warriors mentor in the PBA said this one's extra special.

    Watch Now

    "With two years out, I learned many lessons. I came back, I put the lessons learned in this lineup and I thank the players for accepting the system right away," he said.

    Jackson Corpuz paced the Tile Masters with 24 points and nine rebounds, while Joseph Gabayni added 18 points, nine rebounds and five blocks.

    The scores:

    Cignal 81 – Mocon 25, Perkins 21, Bolick 14, Raymundo 13, Batino 4, Villarias 2, Bringas 0, Potts 0, Arboleda 0, Oftana 0

    Racal 77 – Corpuz 24, Gabayni 18, Capacio 12, Nambatac 8, Torres 8, Salado 4, Onwubere 2, Mangahas 2, Gabawan 0, Cabrera 0, Flores 0, Terso 0


    Quarterscores: 15-23; 35-43; 59-60; 81-78

    Read Next
    Watch Now
    Sorry, no results found for
    Cignal-San Beda celebrates after winning the PBA D-League Aspirants Cup title. Dante Peralta
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result