Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Thu, Jan 27

    AFP Cavaliers look to seal No. 1 seed heading to UNTV Cup semis

    Jan 4, 2019

    Standings: AFP (7-1), PNP (7-2), Malacañang-PSC (6-2), Senate (6-3), NHA (4-4), PITC (4-4), Agriculture (3-6), Judiciary (3-6)

    TWO-TIME champion Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) tries to secure the top seed when it battles Malacañang-Philippine Sports Commission at the close of the second elimination round on Saturday in the 7th UNTV Cup at the Pasig City Sports Center.

    The AFP Cavaliers and the Malacañang-PSC Kamao clash at 4:30 p.m. with the former determined to notch their 8th win – which is the magic number of victories needed by a team to secure the top seeding.

    Going into the final playing date of the elims, the Cavaliers sport a 7-1 card followed by Philippine National Police (7-2), Malacañang-PSC (6-2), defending champion Senate (6-3), National Housing Authority (4-4) and PITC (4-4).

    A three-way tie for No. 1 can occur if the Kamao beat the Cavaliers. To break the tie, the team with the superior quotient will claim the top seeding while the winner over the other rule will be applied to determine the second, third and fourth placers.

    Continue reading below ↓

    The top two teams after the two-round elims of the event organized by UNTV president and CEO Dr. Daniel Razon will advance outright to the semis with twice-to-beat privilege.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    The third and fourth placers will face the No. 5 and No. 6 teams in the quarterfinal round of the event offering P4 million to the chosen charity of the champion team.

    Having beaten the PNP Responders in the first round, the Cavaliers can still clinch the No. 1 seed, so long as they do not lose by more than 10 points to the Kamao.

    Another thing going for the Cavaliers is that the Kamao are still smarting from an 81-73 loss to the PNP Responders.

    Meantime, the NHA Builders and the PITC Global Traders collide at 3 p.m. with the winner claiming fifth spot in the annual event for public servants.

    Out to lead AFP are Boyet Bautista and Darwin Cordero while former amateur hotshot Erick dela Cuesta and Marvin Antonio spearhead Malacañang-PSC’s attack.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result