Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Mon, May 23

    Ateneo completes sweep of La Salle in finals to score third straight UAAP baseball title

    Mar 12, 2015
    Ateneo claims its third straight title with a sweep of the Season 77 baseball finals. Czeasar Dancel

    ATENEO overcame hitting struggles and took advantage of a La Salle error to score a 3-2 win on Thursday and claim its third straight title in the UAAP Season 77 baseball tournament at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium.

    Dio Remollo made a sacrifice bunt to move up Enzo Orbeta and Matt Laurel, followed by a Ryon Tionloc fly out.

    First baseman Carlos Munoz committed a throwing error that led to runs by Orbeta and Laurel to give the Blue Eagles the one-run advantage en route to a sweep of the best-of-three series.

    The Eagles' victory gave a grand send off to six graduating players led by Laurel, who was Best Slugger and tallied the most home runs.

    "It's my seniors who delivered. They don't want to lose," said Ateneo team manager Randy Dizer. "I think it was our composure that won it for us."

    "I think I go for four, five, six...hopefully. It's my dream that I'm working on," said Dizer.

    Continue reading below ↓

    La Salle's Boo Barandiaran claimed the Rookie of the Year and Best Pitcher plum, while Dino Imperial and Laurel wound up with the most Runs Batted-in.

    University of the Philippines' Jose Miguel San Juan was the season’s Best Hotter and Adamson University's Manuel Luis Navasero had the most stolen bases.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Earlier, Adamson moved straight to the Finals with its 60th straight win with a 13-2 victory over National University.

    UP beat La Salle, 7-0, to force a playoff for the No. 2 spot in the stepladder semifinals against University of Santo Tomas, a 7-0 winner over University of the East.

    The Lady Bulldogs and the Lady Batters will clash in a playoff for the last semis berth on Saturday.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Ateneo claims its third straight title with a sweep of the Season 77 baseball finals. Czeasar Dancel
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result