Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
    View Today
    Mon, Jan 25

    Mark Alcala eases past Neil Pineda and into round of 32 of National Open badminton

    Dec 11, 2014
    Rising star Mark Alcala sets up a second-round duel with FEU’s Josh Maquelabit.

    SINGAPORE Singapore Youth International champion Mark Alcala whipped Neil Pineda, 21-3, 21-17, to lead the opening-day winners in the P1.5 million Bingo Bonanza National Open Badminton Championships on Thursday at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Center.

    The 15-year-old Alcala set up a second-round duel with FEU’s Josh Maquelabit, while Jon Masongsong downed Adamson’s Johnrick Macabenta, 21-7, 21-12, to arrange a match against top seed Toby Gadi.

    Carl Clemente defeated Matthew Tumbali K, 21-6, 21-8; Gerald Sibayan thwarted Carlos Benipayo, 21-17, 21-19; Garreth Dizer routed Macky Tumbali, 21-3, 21-2; Ethan Malelang disposed of Rey Gilongos, 21-15, 21-9; and Lance Bautista downed Gerloth Delizo, 21-14, 21-15.

    Clarence Filart repulsed Benjie Silva, 21-17, 25-23; Carlo Remo thumped Beam Cabilan, 21-10, 21-13; and Kyle Gosiaco survived Mark Sotea, 21-14, 19-21, 21-15.

    Jerome Pechera defeated Arman Manlalangit, 22-20, 21-13; John Bergantin bundled out Alberto Hilario, 21-15, 21-13; and EJ Viloria thwarted Christian Torres, 24-22, 21-16.

    Members of the national pool Smash Pilipinas also stamped their class in the four-day championship organized by EventKing Corp. and sanctioned by the Philippine Badminton Association, with Emilio Mangubat Jr. whipping Karl Zamoranos, 21-9, 21-8; Alexis Geverjuan beating Mark Magboo, 21-15, 21-17; and Frell Gabuelo bucking Orlan Ticala, 22-20, 21-11.

    Continue reading below ↓

    Fancied Malvinne Alcala and Gelita Castilo also romped off with easy victories in women’s Open singles, with the former outclassing Dia Magno, 21-9, 21-7, and the latter overwhelming Sam Ramos, 21-10, 21-16.

    Continue reading below ↓
    Recommended Videos

    Alyssa Geverjuan held off Cassandra Lim, 21-19, 21-17; Patricia Malibiran defeated Mariya Sevilla, 19-21, 21-14, 21-18; Annelyn Alba routed Jhay Anne Macabenta, 21-12, 21-9; Janel Dihiansan clobbered Bettina Felipe, 21-5, 21-9; Samantha Santos beat Kristina Tan, 15-21, 21-14, 21-12; Nicole Nieto turned back Kyla Lim, 21-15, 21-17; Christine Garin prevailed over Therese Tumbali, 21-17, 21-12; and Mary Ann Maranon blasted Janelle de Vera, 21-13, 21-18.

    Read Next
    Sorry, no results found for
    Rising star Mark Alcala sets up a second-round duel with FEU’s Josh Maquelabit.
  • POLL

    • Quiz

      Quiz Result