Elma Muros-Posadas nabs honor as first recipient of Palarong Pambansa Lifetime Achievement Award
Elma Muros-Posadas competed in the Palarong Pambansa from 1980 to 1984. Jerome Ascano

ELMA Muros-Posadas was awarded with the first-ever Palarong Pambansa Lifetime Achievement Awardee for being one of the original products of the annual sporting competition that will be held in Antique this year.

Muros-Posadas was given the distinct honor after joining the Palarong Pambansa from 1980 to 1984 while studying at Roosevelt College of Rizal.

From there, she went on to win 15 gold medals in the Southeast Asian Games in several events in athletics.

Muros-Posadas said she is sharing the award to former teammate Dorie Cortejo, who is from Antique.

Cortejo won medals in the SEA Games during the Gintong Alay days in the 1980s while competing in discus throw.

"Siya po ang original na produkto ng Antique," Muros-Posadas said.

Among the athletes that were considered for the award were basketball players Samboy Lim, Danny Ildefonso, Marlou Aquino, and Joel Villanueva, tracksters Lydia De Vega-Mercado, Nenette Galaritta-Lusterio, and Patrick Unso, woodpusher Wesley So, boxers Mark Anthony Barriga, football player Chieffy Caligdong, swimmers Eric Buhain and Enchong Dee, and tennis netter Dyan Castillejo-Garcia.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @reubensports