41st National Milo Marathon fires off in Urdaneta, finale set in Cebu
Race Organizer and running coach Rio dela Cruz shares centerstage with Milo Business Executive officer Joey Uy, Cebu finals organizer Ricky Ballesteros, Business Unit Manager Willy De Ocampo, Milo Philippines Sports Executive Robbie De Vera and Milo Philippines Sports Executive Lester Castillo. Jerome Ascano  

THE 16-leg National Milo Marathon fires off on Sunday in Urdaneta, Pangasinan with the finale to be held in Cebu for the first time in its 41-year history.

The second leg is set in new host Laoag on July 23 followed by the Manila eliminations (July 30), Angeles (August 6), Tarlac (August 13), Naga (August 27), Lucena (September 3), Lipa (September 10), Tagbilaran (September 24).

Roxas has also been added to the calendar, with the race set on October 1 followed by the Iloilo leg (October 8), General Santos (October 15), Davao (October 22), Butuan (November 12) and Cagayan de Oro (November 19). 

“We’re very excited, first of all maaasahan nila na word class pa rin ang ating marathon,” said Robbie de Vera, Milo Sports Executive, on Thursday at I’m Hotel in Makati.

Organizers are now looking into the possibility of sending the winners to the Tokyo Marathon after several champions were sent to participate in the Paris, Los Angeles, Boston and Ottawa marathons.

“This year’s King and Queen we still intend then to send them in an international race to make them (foreigners) understand the competitive nature of the Filipinos,” said De Vera.

“Were’ currently looking at Tokyo marathon but were still finalizing the details,” said Lester Castillo, Milo Sports Executive.     

Follow the writer on Twitter: @meilinlozada